Health and Fitness

The NDIS consumables

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) funds is high quality care and support for all Australians who suffer from significant and permanent disability. The scheme funds various support areas including but not limited to assistance with daily living, social and community participation, education, health and well-being, personal care, living arrangements, living independently, and living arrangements.

The NDIS Provider Melbourne funds have been classified in to three main support purpose categories, it is created in a way that enable participants to reach their goals that they identified on their NDIS plan. NDIS participants can access their funds to pay for their approved funds under their NDIS approved plan.

The main categories of supports are divided into three key general support:

  • Core Supports
  • Capital services
  • Capacity-building activities

What are the NDIS Consumables?

The NDIS consumables fall under the NDIS Core supports category, it includes goods that are used by NDIS participants on a daily basis or/and services that help with their everyday activities. These products or services help participants to manage their disability and personal needs is called Consumables.

What items or services are considered consumables?

Consumables includes but not limited to items such as:

  • Nutritional supplements
  • Continence products including disposables products
  • Interpreting and translating services
  • Wound care products
  • Skincare
  • Bed and chair protection products
  • Personal care and safety products

Assistive Technology

What is Assistive Technology under NDIS?

Assistive technology is any device or system that enables the individual with disability to performs tasks that otherwise is not possible to do or improves the safety and the ease in performing these tasks. This includes complex home modifications, vehicle modification and other modification that increase accessibility.

Assistive technology is also funded by the NDIS. Technology which help a person to be more independent at home or community and place of work. Assistive technology items are evaluated and classified according to the item’s price, complexity and degree, often participants have to complete and submit an assessment form to be approved by the NDIA before the funds gets allocated to an item(s).

Level 1 -Basic Assistive Technology

This covers items that are low cost and easy to set up without needing assistance such as a smoke alarm.

Level 2 – Standard Assistive Technology

This also included items that can be bought off the shelf’s and can be tested before buying such as hearing devices and bath seat.

Level 3 -Specialised Assistive Technology

Items in this level is more expensive and complex, usually bought from stores that specialised in this kind of equipment’s such as wheelchairs.

Level 4 – Complex Assistive Technology

These types of aids are either custom made or it can be ‘off the shelf’ but modified or uniquely configured to match personal support needs, it is often involves connecting with other Assistive Technology supports such as at home or place of work. Examples of these technologies are Adaptive seating and positioning system for complex posture, Communication devices, Environmental control units, hearing aids and Bed systems for complex need.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *